Schools and Education System in Australia

Education System in Australia

Studying in Australia is a tremendous way to further your education and career. The School and Education System in Australia offers diverse range of study option for international students.

The Australian education system is of three types primary, secondary and tertiary education.

School education (Primary and Secondary)

This education is similar across all of Australia with only minor variations between states and territories. School education (primary and secondary) is very compulsory between the ages of six and sixteen. School education is for 13 years and divided into:

  • Primary school – Runs for seven or eight years, starting at Kindergarten/Preparatory through to Year 6 or 7.
  • Secondary school – Runs for three or four years, from Years 7 to 10 or 8 to 10.
  • Senior secondary school – Runs for two years, Years 11 and 12.

Tertiary education

Tertiary education includes higher education (including universities), vocational education and training (VET).

Language of instruction

English is the basic and the main language of instruction in the education system. Many schools also offers bilingual programs or programs in other languages like french etc.

Australian Qualifications Framework

  • The Australian education system is distinguished from many other countries by the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF).
  • The AQF was established in 1995 and is a national policy that covers qualifications from the tertiary education sector.

The AQF has 10 levels and links school, vocational and university education qualifications into one national system. This allows you to move easily from one level of study to the next, and from one institution to another, as long as you satisfy student visa requirements. It allows for choice and flexibility in career planning.

If you are studying an AQF qualification, you can be sure that your institution is Government-authorised and nationally accredited, and that your degree or other AQF qualification will be genuine.

The Education Services for Overseas Students (ESOS) Act 2000 and the National Code of Practice for Registration Authorities and Providers of Education and Training to Overseas Students 2007 (National Code) provide nationally consistent standards for providers of education and training for international students.

As an international student, you must study in a course that is registered on the Commonwealth Register of Institutions and Courses for Overseas Students (CRICOS). CRICOS registration guarantees that the course and the institution at which you study meet the high standards expected by international students. This is all about the school and education system in Australia.